Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews Travel Insurance Reviews Plans

To find the best travel insurance plan for your trip, you want to know which plans worked well for other customers. All of our travel insurance reviews were submitted by customers who purchased a plan on our site. These reviews cover the spectrum including travel health insurance, cruise insurance, comprehensive travel insurance and last minute travel insurance.

InsureMyTrip evaluates all of the reviews posted on the site. "Anytime Advocates" - a team of licensed, uncommissioned travel insurance representatives - are available to assist any customer who may need help facilitating a claim or answering questions about a purchased plan before, during or after their trip.

InsureMyTrip Hits 70,000 Travel Insurance Reviews

Logo for Schema Don't Remove

Customers rated our travel insurance plans
4.58 out of 5
72,190
ratings and reviews
97%
recommended
Sort by
Cruise
Filed claim
TruTravel Insurance Premier
Good coverage
Ruth M. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
tour
John Hancock Silver
DO NOT TRUST THESE PEOPLE! I paid extra for the cancel for any reason. My trip has been cancelled due to the Coronavirus and a travel ban to the country I was trying to go to. I was told cancel for any reason would get me 75% of my money back. My booking site is shut down due to the virus and I filed a claim on March 31st (over 3 months ago) Called them multiple times. Emailed with them multiple times. They still haven't refunded me. I could only imagine what they would do if there was a true emergency. Save your money and look for other companies that stand by their word and care about their clients. DO NOT TRUST THEM.
Amber H. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your claim experience, but have received word from the provider this claim has been resolved. Due to the pandemic most providers are uncharacteristically behind.
    Sep 11,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
Did I purchase good coverage for a reasonable cost? Yes. Would I ever purchase it from this company again? NO. Insurance is useless if it takes months to even receive a response to your claim (if ever). I purchased trip insurance from this company on 3/13/20 for a trip scheduled for July 2020. My policy included the "Cancel for Any Reason" benefit. I had to cancel due to the COVID-19 pandemic and travel restrictions. After canceling my airfare, I submitted the required claim documents on 4/10/20 and again on 4/29/20 when my status on the website didn't change. I also emailed the Claims department with a question regarding claims submission and, to date, have never received a response. I followed up with phone calls on 5/20/20 (I was told my docs had been uploaded finally), 6/26/20 (I was told a "case" would be started and that the agent my claim is assigned to would reach out via email with a status update the following week—no response), on 7/9/20 (I was told my claim would be "escalated to Management."), on 7/20/20 (I was told that my claim would be "escalated to Management for a callback today." I requested to speak to a manager since I was getting nowhere and was told, "No one is available." and all she could do was mark the claim for a manager callback—no response ever). It also did not matter what time of day or what day of the week it was, each time I waited on hold to speak to a representative for no less than 45 minutes. Initially, I could accept that a significantly higher number of claims were being processed due to the pandemic, but it is unacceptable that I could not even get a status update when my claim was allegedly assigned to an agent months ago. Just stop lying to people. I ended up filing a complaint with BBB as well as the Connecticut Attorney General’s office. I also started spamming them through Facebook Messenger. A few days after that, I got an email that I would be receiving information regarding direct deposit for my reimbursement. Ultimately, I did receive my money per my policy. However, the complete ineptitude of this company to even communicate with their customers, with a significant amount of money on the line, nearly overshadows that entirely.
Emily N. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that your claim was paid.

    The travel insurance industry has been experiencing an increased volume of inquires and claims due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been trying their best to address all requests in the order in which they are received.

    All travelers that purchase a policy through InsureMyTrip have access to our Anytime Advocates® program. This unique program is designed to save our travelers time and money by contacting the travel insurance provider directly to smooth out any kinks in the claims process.
    Aug 20,2020
The trip included a
cruise
International Medical Group iTravelInsured SE
I was promised payment and have yet to receive it. Please contact them for me to see if you can help. They claim that their computer system has been down for these past weeks.
Later: After much effort on my part I finally got restitution. Case closed
Lawrence E. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for a plan that is no longer available.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from IMG iTravelInsured:
    "Lawrence, it’s IMG’s mission to be there for our members, which means listening to your feedback and making improvements to better serve you. We are sorry IMG did not meet your expectations; help us improve by sharing additional feedback. Please email us at RatingsandReviews@imglobal.com to start the conversation. "
    Sep 08,2020
AIG Travel Travel Guard Gold
Had to make a last minute claim in March 2020, not for COVID, but the flu. Because of COVID it took 5 months to resolve, and they requested information on items I wasn't requesting reimbursement on, multiple times, but eventually payed the claim. Impossible to call and not have a >30 minute wait, and no responses to email. Hopefully that was due to COVID, I hope not to have to find out again.
david r. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Antonia Pozarski
    AIG Travel
    Photo
    Thank you for the positive rating, and for sharing your feedback. We truly apologize for the delay in processing your claim before it was paid. With the impact Covid-19 had on the entire travel industry, we have experienced unprecedented claim volume. Please be assured we are making every effort to serve all of our customers as quickly as possible while we work through an unprecedented number of calls, inquiries and claims. Thank you again. Take care and stay safe.
    Sep 17,2020
Generali Global Assistance Standard
Filed claim 3/10 that is 30 days ago - no word - “unusual volume due to current pandemic situation” - do your job - I have been in the system long enough to get some answers
Douglas B. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    We are pleased to hear from your provider that your claim has been resolved. Unfortunately, all companies have been uncharacteristically behind due to the pandemic.

    For future reference all travelers that purchase a policy through InsureMyTrip have access to our Anytime Advocates® program. This unique program is designed to save our travelers time and money by contacting the travel insurance provider directly to smooth out any kinks in the claims process. The InsureMyTrip Anytime Advocates® will help any customer with:
    Claims assistance
    Receive expert advice on how to navigate the claims process and file a claim properly with your travel insurance provider.
    Dispute resolution
    Anytime Advocates® will check the status of a claim. If a claim is denied, an advocate will work on behalf of the customer to learn why or to help with the appeal process.
    Sep 11,2020
  • Megan
    Photo
    Please see the response from Generali:

    "We are sorry the plan did not meet your expectation. We design our plans with today's travelers in mind, keeping the cost within reason and providing coverage for the main reasons you may have to cancel. Unfortunately, like other insurance plans you have, travel insurance cannot cover everything. In the event that you have additional information that was not previously submitted, showing that your loss was due to one of the Covered Events in the policy, you may submit this information via our eclaims portal (https://travelinsurance-us.eclaims.csaclaims.com) for further evaluation of your claim. "
    Sep 14,2020
The trip included a
cruise
Generali Global Assistance Standard
DON'T USE GENERALI. Pay a little more and get AIG, Allianz or someone else.
Our Generali policy was a cruise in Tahiti in March. I could not get anyone to answer the phone in 25 calls. When I did get a response to an email after 2 weeks of trying, they said I had to pay 40% more to change the dates to next year for exactly the same coverage with no changes other than the date.
AIG easily switched the policy dates for another trip I had planned so they are by far the better company.

GENERALI is a rip-off and InsuremyTrips shouldn't even show them as an option.
DONALD F. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from Generali:

    "We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as our goal is to provide smooth and seamless transactions for all of our customers while we continue to experience increased call volumes. Unfortunately, the calculated premium cost depends on a variety of factors including days to departure. Our records indicate that a customer service supervisor has provided you with this information along with instructions on how to cancel your policy should you wish to do so or are needing further assistance. "
    Sep 14,2020
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I wanted to FILE A CLAIM BUT Could not GET ANY RESPONSE FROM THE COMPANY. I tried calling several times and no one answered the phone even after being on hold for ever. Finally I got in touch by email and got paid
Joyce G. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that your claim was paid.

    The travel insurance industry has been experiencing an increased volume of inquires and claims due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been trying their best to address all requests in the order in which they are received.
    Aug 20,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Purchase this insurance for a recent trip to Canada, on our way back we had a +6 hour delay and I made a claim for expenses (meals, charger etc; ~ $105.00 USD). Submitted all the documentation on January 12th and it has been more than 19 BUSINESS DAYS without a response (25 calendar days), even though they say it takes around 15 business days to process. No communication has been received, terrible customer service, do not buy!

UPDATE: After 8 months Insuremytrip did follow up. The claim ($102) was paid but only after the bad review above was posted. Anyway, I stand with what I said before, terrible service and the process should have been either faster and/or with more communication on their part.
Alejandro E. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured:
    "Thank you for your feedback. Our apologizes for the frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes are very high, but every customer experience is important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Sep 10,2020
The trip included a
cruise
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Kudos to you if you are reading reviews.  Our family of four has exclusively used Travel Insured for our trips abroad for several years.  They are fabulous when you do not have a claim as you are reading in other 5 star ratings.  Therefore, all reviews where a claim was not made must absolutely be disregarded!
 
Not only was my medical claim supported by our licensed physical declined, it took EIGHT & A HALF MONTHS for the claim to even be processed.  The ONLY time our claims analyst handled our paperwork was when we made an inquiry and when she phoned to inform us our claim has been denied.  Our claim should have been processed before COVID was an issue. Our claim documents were completely submitted a full 8 weeks before WHO declared a global emergency and 15 weeks before COVID was declared a national emergency in the United States.  Despite these facts, our claims analyst blamed the slow process on COVID.  Additionally, it took over six weeks for Travel Insured to upload the third set of requested documents to their system and another eight weeks after that before finally rejecting our claim on grounds they could have indicated months ago.  This company has kept our family in unnecessary limbo.
 
Read the fine print. Our claim was denied base on one minor requirement that didn’t even make sense in the context of the claim. There are other companies that provide better coverage and superior customer service. Unless you pay extra for the “Cancel For Any Reason” policy, you are probably wasting your money. Even with CFAR, there is fine print and you are only insured for 75% of your policy. Keep researching and don’t forget some credit cards offer as much coverage as travel insurance!
James P. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your review.

    For future travel insurance needs please do not hesitate to call InsureMyTrip at 800-487-4722. One of licensed representatives can assist in answering any questions, to run a quote, or even purchase a plan over the phone. We look forward to assisting you in the future.

    All travelers that purchase a policy through InsureMyTrip have access to our Anytime Advocates® program. This unique program is designed to save our travelers time and money by contacting the travel insurance provider directly to smooth out any kinks in the claims process. The InsureMyTrip Anytime Advocates® will help any customer with:
    Claims assistance
    Receive expert advice on how to navigate the claims process and file a claim properly with your travel insurance provider.
    Dispute resolution
    Anytime Advocates® will check the status of a claim. If a claim is denied, an advocate will work on behalf of the customer to learn why or to help with the appeal process.
    Oct 06,2020
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.71)
  2. IMT Services
    (4.68)
  3. Medjet
    (4.66)
  4. Nationwide
    (4.63)
  5. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.62)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.52)
  2. Travelex
    (4.47)
  3. IMT Services
    (4.47)
  4. GeoBlue
    (4.46)
  5. John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
    (4.41)