For a better experience, our site works best in Chrome, Firefox, & Edge.
Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews Travel Insurance Reviews Plans

To find the best travel insurance plan for your trip, you want to know which plans worked well for other customers. All of our travel insurance reviews were submitted by customers who purchased a plan on our site. These reviews cover the spectrum including travel health insurance, cruise insurance, comprehensive travel insurance and last minute travel insurance.

InsureMyTrip evaluates all of the reviews posted on the site. "Anytime Advocates" - a team of licensed, uncommissioned travel insurance representatives - are available to assist any customer who may need help facilitating a claim or answering questions about a purchased plan before, during or after their trip.

InsureMyTrip Hits 70,000 Travel Insurance Reviews

Logo for Schema Don't Remove

Customers rated our travel insurance plans
4.58 out of 5
72,266
ratings and reviews
97%
recommended
Sort by
Cruise
Filed claim
Travelex Travel Basic
Excellent service and plan. I purchased this policy for a two week long trip. Unfortunately, during the trip, a non-traveling family member passed away and I had to cut the trip short. When I filed a claim, I provided supporting documentation (including death certificate) and was reimbursed for the full amount of the trip that I missed due to returning home early for the funeral services. Very satisfied.
Thomas Z. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection ExactCare
I had to cut our trip short due to work reasons. They refunded my money quickly after I sent in the documents they asked for.
TRACY C. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Brittany G
    Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    Photo
    Thank you for your review, we're glad you've had a positive experience.
    Mar 31,2021
The trip included a
cruise
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
I purchased my travel insurance January 2020 for a January 2021 trip. My insurance plan included cancel for any reason. I knew May 2020 that I was not going to take the trip so I cancelled. I submitted my claim to C&F Travel Insured International Sept 3, 2020; 4 months later and I have heard nothing from them! I have been patient, but this is ridiculous. The reason for travel insurance is to receive reimbursement for trip issues. If they are not going to do anything but take my premium payment; I don't need them. At this point I would never, ever use them again.
UPDATE
With help of Insure My Trip I received my trip reimbursement. I can't thank Insure My Trip enough for their prompt response and resolution to this issue!
Yvonne S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Kaylie
    Photo
    Thank you for allowing InsureMyTrip to advocate on your behalf. We are happy to see your claim was resolved.

    C&F Travel Insured has issued the following response to your review:

    "Thank you for your feedback. We strive for customer experience excellence. Our apologizes for the frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes are very high, but every customer experience is important to us. Please email your contact information to [email protected] , to further discuss your situation. Thank you."
    Feb 09,2021
The trip included a
cruise
Generali Global Assistance Preferred
File a claim when cruise cancelled, no response for over a month. Emailed and quickly told not covered due to virus not being a covered reason. I think they could be a little more understanding in this time.
Had a voucher from the insurance company, called them and made changes on 1/11/2021, was due a refund, on 1/18/2021 called your customer service and was told they had no record and the refund had to come from the insurance company. The rep was very rude, especially when I told her the charge on my credit card was from Insuremytrip.com, she that is not correct and she didn't know anything about it. She said no supervisor was working and supposedly will call me back sometime.
Richard E. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback. Generali Global Assistance has issued the following response:

    "We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless experience for all of our customers, however, the claims process can take some time, as our regulatory laws require a number of reviews and required documentation. Under normal circumstance, the process can take up to 30 days, however, this timeline may be extended due to the current volume we are experiencing. As stated in our policy documents, our plans only reimburse for non-refundable, pre-paid trip costs if you need to cancel your trip for a covered reason. It is important that you review your Description of Coverage, which are available before and after your purchase. We take the claims process very seriously and want our customers to make informed choices when purchasing travel insurance."
    May 29,2020
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to report that the insurance provider has issued the partial refund of the premium that was owed to you. Please call us at 800-487-4722 if there is anything else we can assist you with.
    Jan 26,2021
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
You offer the worst, most unpredictable product in the world. We filed a claim because Covid caused a trip planner to cancel a trip. Of course, your managers in their wisdom saw that as a once in a lifetime opportunity to fleece your customers. We spend hours navigating your ungodly claims process, kept making calls for 9 months to see what the holdup was, and finally got the news that our claim was turned down. I am using every platform I can find to make people undeerstand how absolutely worthless you and your products are.

Don't have anyone from "Customer Care" call. We already tried that route. A joke. Like your whole company. Aptly named: "crumb."
John S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Kaylie
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    C&F Travel Insured has issued the following response to your review:

    "Thank you for your feedback. We strive for customer experience excellence. Our apologizes for the frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes are very high, but every customer experience is important to us. Please email your contact information to [email protected] , to further discuss your situation. Thank you."




    Feb 09,2021
The trip included a
tour
TripAssure Advantage Asset
I had booked a trip to Sulawesi in Indonesia back in Nov of 2018. When I made the initial booking, I purchased the travel insurance using the dates of my major flight component from LAX to Bali. I was coming from Colorado and I left the purchase of the first flight segment from DEN-LAX for later as well as the segment from Bali to Sulawesi. This was my mistake, since the flight out of LAX left at 15 minutes after midnight so when I eventually booked my flight from DEN-LAX it actual left the day before my insurance coverage started. I thought about updating the insurance, but since I had never ever used my travel insurance before I elected not to bother with the additional hassle.

I started the trip as planned, traveling from DEN-LAX on the evening prior to the start of my travel insurance. Half-way through the flight from DEN-LAX the pilot announced that due to a power outage at LAX our flight was being diverted to SLC. We arrived in SLC some time before 10pm. Upon arrival, the airline announced that they would not be offering us any accommodation. The airline rebooked me the next day to LAX connecting through OAK. SQ rebooked me on the same flight at 00:15 24 hours later. My flight from Bali to Sulawesi was a non-refundable ticket so I was forced to book a new ticket in business class, since that was the only seat left. I took a Lyft to a nearby hotel and checked in for the night. A check of my flight the next morning indicated that my flight to OAK was already delayed, which meant I now only had 30 minutes to make my connection. I headed to the airport where a helpful SW agent put me on the direct flight to BUR. I ended up renting a car in BUR and dropping it at LAX. From that point on everything, proceeded according to my rebooked plans.

At that point, the costs I had incurred were Lyft, hotel, car rental, and new business class ticket DPS-UPG. I did have some concerns, given that the precipitating event had actually occurred before my insurance coverage started, but I put a claim in when I returned home and hoped for the best. The claim process was very easy, forms were filled out and submitted online. It would have been nice if it generated something like an email detailing the claim or a way to print out your claim, for future reference. After a few months I received a couple of emails with electronic checks that were quick and easy to deposit. All but about $20 of my claim were paid out, so I was pleased and pleasantly surprised by the resolution.

I was happy with the final outcome, but the process could be improved. A "paper trail" just to document your claim for later reference would be a nice improvement. You are given a reference number to refer to your claim while it was being processed, but inaccessible once it has been paid out. It would have been nice to see a breakdown of the payout to understand what had been allowed or disallowed in the claim. Some additional transparency to the process would be a nice improvement.
Edward H. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
cruise
tour
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Universal Cruise
We were very disappointed in Nationwide Insurance and this product. Our Summer 2020 European trip was cancelled in April 2020 due to the global pandemic. We contacted Nationwide immediately and they recommended that we pursue reimbursement from the travel providers then file a claim for any unrecoverable funds. We trusted that they were guiding us properly and followed their advice. We did indeed have unrecoverable funds and filed for reimbursement immediately after our last refund in Dec 2020. Nationwide denied our claim stating that the global pandemic was not a covered peril. Why was my policy not cancelled and my premium refunded when my trip was cancelled? Why did the Nationwide representative lead me on to believe that we were covered when I contacted them in April? If a global pandemic with travel shutdown all over the world is not covered, why buy insurance? At this point, I would not recommend using Nationwide and I'm not sure about purchasing travel insurance anymore. It looks like there is a very narrow window for reimbursement and obviously the insurer's intent is to deny most of the claims. My experience has been that the travel providers have been focused on taking care of their customers and the insurance company is finding ways to say no. Why buy insurance?
Charles S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Kaylie
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    We are sorry to hear that you were unable to travel. Upon learning that your claim was deemed unpayable, we reached out to you about Nationwide making an exception to cancel the policy for a refund of premium or transferring this policy to a future trip. Nationwide requires additional information from you in order to determine if you meet the guidelines for a successful exception. Please call us at 800-487-4722 or email us at [email protected] for further information.
    Jan 20,2021
The trip included a
cruise
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I purchased this plan for my wife and I to fly out of Galveston to travel to Mexico on a cruise on July 5th 2020. It was obviously cancelled due to covid-19, which is completely understandable. I opened a claim with the company in July, submitted documents in late summer/early fall and have heard NOTHING from them. ANY contact I've had with them has been because I have reached out to them. The first time, in October, I received an email reply to mine that was a copy and paste "we are really busy and sorry for the delay." It is now December and I just emailed them again stating that I do understand they are overwhelmed, but to completely ignore the customer and not keep me updated is unacceptable. I have always bought Crum and Forster when we travel, and I will not be using them after this experience. What is the point in having travel insurance if your insurance company refuses to work with you? I'm terribly dissapointed.
Stephen T. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    We are sorry to hear about how the claims process went in your situation. For future situations where you may need to file a claim we do have an advocate program.

    All travelers that purchase a policy through InsureMyTrip have access to our Anytime Advocates® program. This unique program is designed to save our travelers time and money by contacting the travel insurance provider directly to smooth out any kinks in the claims process. The InsureMyTrip Anytime Advocates® will help any customer with:
    Claims assistance
    Receive expert advice on how to navigate the claims process and file a claim properly with your travel insurance provider.
    Dispute resolution
    Anytime Advocates® will check the status of a claim. If a claim is denied, an advocate will work on behalf of the customer to learn why or to help with the appeal process.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured:

    "We apologize for the disappointing situation that has occurred. If you wish to discuss your coverage further, or have any questions you would like us to clarify, please call 1-855-752-8303. Thank you for your patience!"
    Mar 05,2021
The trip included a
cruise
tour
Generali Global Assistance Preferred
I am very happy to say that although it took a while for resolution to my claim, I did get a completely fair and just solution to my claim. I do understand with the Covid pandemic that delays are not unusual and understandable but nonetheless great customer service revolves on addressing consumer concerns which definitely was done. I would recommend both InsureMyTrip and Generali Global Assistance Insurance wholeheartedly and not hesitate to tell my family and friends this and look forward to using again once worldwidetravel becomes more available and safe. Thanks again for listening and acting positively on my claim.
Veda F. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection ExactCare
We had to make a claim on our plan, and the process was fantastic. I would 100% buy insurance from Birkshire-Hathaway Travel Protection Again.

We were scheduled to spend Christmas and New Years of 2019/2020 in Europe. We'd bought our airline tickets on miles, so initially didn't plan to even purchase insurance. But, then just a couple weeks before departure, I thought, "Well, stuff happens at the holidays and a lot of our accommodations are non-refundable, so maybe I should get a plan."

2-days before departure, one of our family members had an unexpected medical emergency that prevented us from going on the trip, and required emergent surgery.

I contacted BHTP to let them know we were going to have to cancel, and make sure I "read all the fine print" about my responsibilities related to cancellation. The fine print was reasonable, essentially stating that I had to promptly notify all the trip providers that I was canceling, and obtain whatever refund I could.

I did this, by email whenever possible for the purposes of easy documentation, and submitted my initial claim with BHTP.

I then sort of let things slide for a while. Canceling the trip was emotionally stressful, compounded when COVID came a couple of months later and we had to delay the "replacement' trip indefinitely. Our BHTP rep let me know that I had 1-year from the date of the initial claim to finish submitting documentation, and so I took my time.


Finally, last month (November of 2020) I realized I'd been procrastinating for too long and had better act. I collected all the required documentation. Because our trip was booked independently, we had over 10 individual items that we were claiming reimbursement for. AirBnbs, VRBO's, food and city tours, an EasyJet flight and train tickets, and a short-term rental booked direct with a local company.

When I gathered everything together and put it in a PDF, there were over 90-pages of documentation (receipts, cancellation emails, documentation of the refunds we were able to obtain, credit card statements and more) in addition to our actual claim form.

I summarized the charges in an excel sheet, to make life easier for the claims adjuster, and then sent it off.

I fully expected some back and forth, requests for additional documentation or attempts to refuse our claim on some technicality that I'd missed in the fine print.

I got none of that. This morning, about 3-weeks after submitting our final claim form and documentation, I got a notification that the full amount of our claim (Just under $6k) was sent to my Paypal account.

I would 100% purchase trip insurance from BHTP again, in a second. My interactions with customer service reps were pleasant and helpful, their claim process was not burdensome, and ultimately, our claim was paid promptly and without issue.
Andrew H. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Brittany G
    Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    Photo
    Thank you for your review, we're glad you've had a positive experience.
    Mar 31,2021
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.71)
  2. Medjet
    (4.66)
  3. Nationwide
    (4.63)
  4. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.63)
  5. Global Underwriters
    (4.61)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.54)
  2. Travelex
    (4.47)
  3. GeoBlue
    (4.46)
  4. John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
    (4.41)
  5. AIG Travel
    (4.37)