For a better experience, our site works best in Chrome, Firefox, & Edge.
Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews Travel Insurance Reviews Plans

To find the best travel insurance plan for your trip, you want to know which plans worked well for other customers. All of our travel insurance reviews were submitted by customers who purchased a plan on our site. These reviews cover the spectrum including travel health insurance, cruise insurance, comprehensive travel insurance and last minute travel insurance.

InsureMyTrip evaluates all of the reviews posted on the site. "Anytime Advocates" - a team of licensed, uncommissioned travel insurance representatives - are available to assist any customer who may need help facilitating a claim or answering questions about a purchased plan before, during or after their trip.

InsureMyTrip Hits 70,000 Travel Insurance Reviews

Logo for Schema Don't Remove

Customers rated our travel insurance plans
4.58 out of 5
72,266
ratings and reviews
97%
recommended
Sort by
Cruise
Filed claim
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Lite
I was going to Dubai, Emirates canceled my trip but charged me $400 cancellation fee. I was only trying to get that covered. Took them 7 months to complete and deny the claim! Not useful. Would not reccomend!
Luis T. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the frustrations you’ve experienced during your experience with our company. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. If you’d like to discuss your situation further please contact us at [email protected] . We appreciate your patience. "
    Nov 05,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I bought two separate policies (as required since we don't live in the same household) for my almost 80-year-old father and I to travel to the Netherlands in April 2020. The airline cancelled our flights (non-refundable tickets) because of COVID (clearly stated in our email). I filed a claim for one policy on April 5, 2020 with all relevant documentation. I started getting reminders to submit relevant documentation several weeks later although I had already submitted all of the required documentation. I submitted the second claim for my father in May 2020 because it was clear nothing was happening quickly (understandable certainly). Several months later, I started calling on a monthly basis because of hearing nothing from the company. They assured me first the files were complete and then that they had been consolidated and assigned to a claims person. I gave up calling after the last person I spoke to said that calling every month was fine but wouldn't make anything happen any faster. I received a letter about my policy today 10/16/20 (almost six and a half months later) informing me that non-refundable airfare was apparently not covered under the policy. I reread the policy and agree that this is apparently true. Why one would offer insurance for travel but not cover airfare is admittedly a "shame on me" thing for not noticing that the one and ONLY thing we needed it for wasn't included (literally the tickets were the sum total of the value of the trip for which we requested insurance--everything else was refundable or could be cancelled). I understand the technicality of the decision; that it took five and a half months (without any clear information from the company) is appalling, especially now since I have to try and find other recourse to recoup thousands of dollars some other way. I certainly would never buy from this company again and would urge other users to read carefully in case they assume that their airfare is in fact included in the policy if your airline cancels your trip. In our case, it was "your Travel supplier cancelling your trip is not a listed covered reason; therefore, benefits are not payable." So, lesson learned, but I wish I hadn't been able to buy coverage for something which literally couldn't be refunded according to the terms of the policy.
John S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    We thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the frustrations you’ve experienced during your experience with our company. Our relationship with our customers is very important to us. If you’d like to discuss your situation further please contact us at [email protected] We appreciate your patience."
    Nov 05,2020
The trip included a
cruise
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Although it took 7 months, I finally received my trip interruption insurance claim from C&F. Since I purchased the policy through Insure My Trip, I reached out to them, 3 months in, to try to push C&F to respond to my claim. Insure My Trip was very helpful in clarifying the hold up and with further help from my travel agency, Pavlus, I was finally able to get the compensation I was due.
WENDI L. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    We appreciate your feedback.

    Please see the reply from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Nov 05,2020
Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection ExactCare Value
Claims take 8 to 10 weeks for the initial review and then they will get back to you if they need more information. I shudder to think if their was a real emergency and you needed them ASAP. Actual reimbursement time was less than 4 weeks so review updated.
Jo Ellen G. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
I filed my claim early May and provided all the necessary paperwork - I cancelled due to Covid and purchased a cancel for any reason policy. Received claim check in September with help from insuretrip.com customer service.
Alnie F. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
tour
Arch RoamRight Preferred
Most of the reviews I've read here seem to mention not having to actually USE their purchased coverage. I am writing as someone who has had to use the coverage and has been fighting a ridiculous fight to get reimbursed. To try and make it brief, I'll just say they have been making me jump through many hoops and that It's been going on for 6 months now. Each time I submit what they ask for, they come back to me with something else I need to send in; all in an effort , I'm sure, to wear me down and have me say the heck with it. This has happened 8 times now, to the point where my travel company told me they never heard of a travel insurance company demanding what they were asking for in order to process a claim payment. After supplying all the information, on a $6,000 claim, for which I paid an additional $1300 for the insurance, they reimbursed me $60 for myself and $60 for my husband. I have now started an appeals process. It has been 4 weeks and I have not heard a thing from them, not even an acknowledgement that they received my email and then again a subsequent email I sent asking for receipt confirmation. I will contact my local consumer advocates and also the state attorney general for assistance. DO NOT PURCHASE TRAVEL INSURANCE from ROAM RIGHT. I CAN'T STRESS THIS ENOUGH!!! That is unless you want to have an excerise in total frustration only to be ripped off in the end anyway. They are crooks.
Kathleen R. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection ExactCare
OUSTANDING COMPANY !! We did unfortunately have a claim and it was processed so rapidly, and without any problem- it was really an excellent experience. Highly recommended.
RHEA N. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Empty Comment
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Essential
Claim: 59572

My plan was purchased in 10/27/2019, months before COVID. This company looks hard to find an excuse to not honor trip cancellation, despite claims of "standard in the industry" or that they "regret" not fulfilling their moral obligations to honor the contract. It is my strong opinion that they have small print used to deny payments for legitimate claims, that this company does not deserve your trust or business. Nationwide certainly will never have my business.

The natural disaster is COVID. Travel to Europe from the U.S. is not allowed, as the entire U.S. is being quarantined from the EU. The hotel accommodations in Italy are not habitable by any U.S. citizen.

Additionally, I am a hospital worker potentially exposed to COVID patients daily. I must quarantine 14 days before allowing myself come in close contact to unsuspecting travelers, because it is morally correct. It is not possible to actually travel.

I do not think that I would be allowed to stay at my hotel if I were possibly contagious, if I were allowed to travel to Europe! Regardless,

I was reimbursed for most of my travel (airfare) by the airlines, so I was not even expecting to be reimbursed for the entire amount of my coverage, only a portion of the coverage for which I paid. Unlike other reputable businesses, this company does not warrant your business, in my opinion.
Marc S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Nationwide Mutual Insurance is making exceptions for cancellations resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, to allow you to transfer your policy to a new trip or cancel the policy as long as you meet certain requirements.

    Please reach out to us at InsureMyTrip 800-487-4722, so we may further assist you in this process.
    Oct 20,2020
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I was injured on my trip (March 7, 2020) and filed a claim immediately (March 9, 2020). C&F was very helpful in arranging repatriation so that I could return home for orthopedic surgery. In order to get home, they said I had to pay for the flights and was told to submit the claim, which I did timely. I still have not been reimbursed for the trip interruption claim. I have called and emailed numerous times. When I call, I'm on hold for at least 45 minutes.I really have been given the runaround. When requested, I submitted any follow-up documentation immediately. My claims analyst does not email or answer my calls. Last thing I was told was that my claim is in final payment review but it's been 5 weeks since I was told that for the 2nd time. I'm at my wits end with this company. I know that COVID delayed things but I filed my claim early in the COVID crises and my claims has nothing to do with COVID. I hope someone from Insure My Trip can help with this claim. I would not buy insurance from this company again.
UPDATE: My claim was finally paid but it took a lot of effort. After numerous calls and several months, a supervisor finally contacted me and the claim issue was resolved. There was one minor issue holding up the claim and if they had contacted me initially, it would have been easily resolved. I had sent them the correct documentation but they had a question and could have easily emailed or called me.
Barbara N. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the reply from C&F Travel Insured:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes are very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Sep 21,2020
The trip included a
cruise
TravelSafe Classic
Purchased a plan for three of us to cruise to the British Isles next April 2021. We had to cancel our cruise and are very pleased that InsureMyTrip is in the process of refunding the premium we paid.
Lesley L. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for a plan that is no longer available.
  • Empty Comment
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.71)
  2. Medjet
    (4.66)
  3. Nationwide
    (4.63)
  4. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.63)
  5. Global Underwriters
    (4.61)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.54)
  2. Travelex
    (4.47)
  3. GeoBlue
    (4.46)
  4. John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
    (4.41)
  5. AIG Travel
    (4.37)