For a better experience, our site works best in Chrome, Firefox, & Edge.
Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International

Founded in 1994 and based in Connecticut, Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International focuses exclusively on travel insurance and provides the most useful types of coverage and the most specialized level of service. Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International is committed to providing dependable coverage, great value, and end-to-end satisfaction.

Learn more about Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International.

Customers rated C&F Travel Insured International
4.58 out of 5
7,055
ratings and reviews
97%
recommended
Sort by
Showing
Cruise
Filed claim
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Lite
I was going to Dubai, Emirates canceled my trip but charged me $400 cancellation fee. I was only trying to get that covered. Took them 7 months to complete and deny the claim! Not useful. Would not reccomend!
Luis T. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the frustrations you’ve experienced during your experience with our company. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. If you’d like to discuss your situation further please contact us at customercare@travelinsured.com . We appreciate your patience. "
    Nov 05,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I bought two separate policies (as required since we don't live in the same household) for my almost 80-year-old father and I to travel to the Netherlands in April 2020. The airline cancelled our flights (non-refundable tickets) because of COVID (clearly stated in our email). I filed a claim for one policy on April 5, 2020 with all relevant documentation. I started getting reminders to submit relevant documentation several weeks later although I had already submitted all of the required documentation. I submitted the second claim for my father in May 2020 because it was clear nothing was happening quickly (understandable certainly). Several months later, I started calling on a monthly basis because of hearing nothing from the company. They assured me first the files were complete and then that they had been consolidated and assigned to a claims person. I gave up calling after the last person I spoke to said that calling every month was fine but wouldn't make anything happen any faster. I received a letter about my policy today 10/16/20 (almost six and a half months later) informing me that non-refundable airfare was apparently not covered under the policy. I reread the policy and agree that this is apparently true. Why one would offer insurance for travel but not cover airfare is admittedly a "shame on me" thing for not noticing that the one and ONLY thing we needed it for wasn't included (literally the tickets were the sum total of the value of the trip for which we requested insurance--everything else was refundable or could be cancelled). I understand the technicality of the decision; that it took five and a half months (without any clear information from the company) is appalling, especially now since I have to try and find other recourse to recoup thousands of dollars some other way. I certainly would never buy from this company again and would urge other users to read carefully in case they assume that their airfare is in fact included in the policy if your airline cancels your trip. In our case, it was "your Travel supplier cancelling your trip is not a listed covered reason; therefore, benefits are not payable." So, lesson learned, but I wish I hadn't been able to buy coverage for something which literally couldn't be refunded according to the terms of the policy.
John S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    We thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the frustrations you’ve experienced during your experience with our company. Our relationship with our customers is very important to us. If you’d like to discuss your situation further please contact us at customercare@travelinsured.com. We appreciate your patience."
    Nov 05,2020
The trip included a
cruise
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Although it took 7 months, I finally received my trip interruption insurance claim from C&F. Since I purchased the policy through Insure My Trip, I reached out to them, 3 months in, to try to push C&F to respond to my claim. Insure My Trip was very helpful in clarifying the hold up and with further help from my travel agency, Pavlus, I was finally able to get the compensation I was due.
WENDI L. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    We appreciate your feedback.

    Please see the reply from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Nov 05,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
I filed my claim early May and provided all the necessary paperwork - I cancelled due to Covid and purchased a cancel for any reason policy. Received claim check in September with help from insuretrip.com customer service.
Alnie F. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I was injured on my trip (March 7, 2020) and filed a claim immediately (March 9, 2020). C&F was very helpful in arranging repatriation so that I could return home for orthopedic surgery. In order to get home, they said I had to pay for the flights and was told to submit the claim, which I did timely. I still have not been reimbursed for the trip interruption claim. I have called and emailed numerous times. When I call, I'm on hold for at least 45 minutes.I really have been given the runaround. When requested, I submitted any follow-up documentation immediately. My claims analyst does not email or answer my calls. Last thing I was told was that my claim is in final payment review but it's been 5 weeks since I was told that for the 2nd time. I'm at my wits end with this company. I know that COVID delayed things but I filed my claim early in the COVID crises and my claims has nothing to do with COVID. I hope someone from Insure My Trip can help with this claim. I would not buy insurance from this company again.
UPDATE: My claim was finally paid but it took a lot of effort. After numerous calls and several months, a supervisor finally contacted me and the claim issue was resolved. There was one minor issue holding up the claim and if they had contacted me initially, it would have been easily resolved. I had sent them the correct documentation but they had a question and could have easily emailed or called me.
Barbara N. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the reply from C&F Travel Insured:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes are very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Sep 21,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
Did I purchase good coverage for a reasonable cost? Yes. Would I ever purchase it from this company again? NO. Insurance is useless if it takes months to even receive a response to your claim (if ever). I purchased trip insurance from this company on 3/13/20 for a trip scheduled for July 2020. My policy included the "Cancel for Any Reason" benefit. I had to cancel due to the COVID-19 pandemic and travel restrictions. After canceling my airfare, I submitted the required claim documents on 4/10/20 and again on 4/29/20 when my status on the website didn't change. I also emailed the Claims department with a question regarding claims submission and, to date, have never received a response. I followed up with phone calls on 5/20/20 (I was told my docs had been uploaded finally), 6/26/20 (I was told a "case" would be started and that the agent my claim is assigned to would reach out via email with a status update the following week—no response), on 7/9/20 (I was told my claim would be "escalated to Management."), on 7/20/20 (I was told that my claim would be "escalated to Management for a callback today." I requested to speak to a manager since I was getting nowhere and was told, "No one is available." and all she could do was mark the claim for a manager callback—no response ever). It also did not matter what time of day or what day of the week it was, each time I waited on hold to speak to a representative for no less than 45 minutes. Initially, I could accept that a significantly higher number of claims were being processed due to the pandemic, but it is unacceptable that I could not even get a status update when my claim was allegedly assigned to an agent months ago. Just stop lying to people. I ended up filing a complaint with BBB as well as the Connecticut Attorney General’s office. I also started spamming them through Facebook Messenger. A few days after that, I got an email that I would be receiving information regarding direct deposit for my reimbursement. Ultimately, I did receive my money per my policy. However, the complete ineptitude of this company to even communicate with their customers, with a significant amount of money on the line, nearly overshadows that entirely.
Emily N. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that your claim was paid.

    The travel insurance industry has been experiencing an increased volume of inquires and claims due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been trying their best to address all requests in the order in which they are received.

    All travelers that purchase a policy through InsureMyTrip have access to our Anytime Advocates® program. This unique program is designed to save our travelers time and money by contacting the travel insurance provider directly to smooth out any kinks in the claims process.
    Aug 20,2020
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I wanted to FILE A CLAIM BUT Could not GET ANY RESPONSE FROM THE COMPANY. I tried calling several times and no one answered the phone even after being on hold for ever. Finally I got in touch by email and got paid
Joyce G. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that your claim was paid.

    The travel insurance industry has been experiencing an increased volume of inquires and claims due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been trying their best to address all requests in the order in which they are received.
    Aug 20,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Purchase this insurance for a recent trip to Canada, on our way back we had a +6 hour delay and I made a claim for expenses (meals, charger etc; ~ $105.00 USD). Submitted all the documentation on January 12th and it has been more than 19 BUSINESS DAYS without a response (25 calendar days), even though they say it takes around 15 business days to process. No communication has been received, terrible customer service, do not buy!

UPDATE: After 8 months Insuremytrip did follow up. The claim ($102) was paid but only after the bad review above was posted. Anyway, I stand with what I said before, terrible service and the process should have been either faster and/or with more communication on their part.
Alejandro E. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured:
    "Thank you for your feedback. Our apologizes for the frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes are very high, but every customer experience is important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Sep 10,2020
The trip included a
cruise
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Kudos to you if you are reading reviews.  Our family of four has exclusively used Travel Insured for our trips abroad for several years.  They are fabulous when you do not have a claim as you are reading in other 5 star ratings.  Therefore, all reviews where a claim was not made must absolutely be disregarded!
 
Not only was my medical claim supported by our licensed physical declined, it took EIGHT & A HALF MONTHS for the claim to even be processed.  The ONLY time our claims analyst handled our paperwork was when we made an inquiry and when she phoned to inform us our claim has been denied.  Our claim should have been processed before COVID was an issue. Our claim documents were completely submitted a full 8 weeks before WHO declared a global emergency and 15 weeks before COVID was declared a national emergency in the United States.  Despite these facts, our claims analyst blamed the slow process on COVID.  Additionally, it took over six weeks for Travel Insured to upload the third set of requested documents to their system and another eight weeks after that before finally rejecting our claim on grounds they could have indicated months ago.  This company has kept our family in unnecessary limbo.
 
Read the fine print. Our claim was denied base on one minor requirement that didn’t even make sense in the context of the claim. There are other companies that provide better coverage and superior customer service. Unless you pay extra for the “Cancel For Any Reason” policy, you are probably wasting your money. Even with CFAR, there is fine print and you are only insured for 75% of your policy. Keep researching and don’t forget some credit cards offer as much coverage as travel insurance!
James P. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your review.

    For future travel insurance needs please do not hesitate to call InsureMyTrip at 800-487-4722. One of licensed representatives can assist in answering any questions, to run a quote, or even purchase a plan over the phone. We look forward to assisting you in the future.

    All travelers that purchase a policy through InsureMyTrip have access to our Anytime Advocates® program. This unique program is designed to save our travelers time and money by contacting the travel insurance provider directly to smooth out any kinks in the claims process. The InsureMyTrip Anytime Advocates® will help any customer with:
    Claims assistance
    Receive expert advice on how to navigate the claims process and file a claim properly with your travel insurance provider.
    Dispute resolution
    Anytime Advocates® will check the status of a claim. If a claim is denied, an advocate will work on behalf of the customer to learn why or to help with the appeal process.
    Oct 06,2020
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I purchased this plan in November 2019 for the entire cost of my trip. On February 20 I filed a claim on line because no one would ever pick up the phone. I stayed on line for hours. During this time I was very persistent and continued to follow up with trying to get refunds from the carriers and all vendors, was able to receive refunds on my own. However, some companies would not refund any money. I continued to try and contact C&F thru emails and by telephone and one day actually got someone on the phone who claimed to to be a supervisor. Went over everything with her and she required additional documents of which I had previously sent multiple times. I waited months for any answer. I emailed and called this person and it always went to voice mail. I left lots of messages and never received even one response.

I finally reached out to NYS Dept of Finance who licensed this company. Within days of filing a claim with the state the were sending me my settlement.
It took filing a claim t with NYS to get a refund. Too bad that they do not send you a breakdown because they did not send the entire amount. Need to threaten to go back to state until they paid in full.
Will never use this company again.
Barry T. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the frustrations you’ve experienced during your experience with our company. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. If you’d like to discuss your situation further please contact us at customercare@travelinsured.com. We appreciate your patience."
    Sep 14,2020
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.71)
  2. IMT Services
    (4.68)
  3. Medjet
    (4.66)
  4. Nationwide
    (4.63)
  5. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.62)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.52)
  2. IMT Services
    (4.47)
  3. GeoBlue
    (4.46)
  4. John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
    (4.41)
  5. AIG Travel
    (4.37)